Thoughts – Paulo Coelho


Just a few selected inspirational quotes from Paulo Coelho that I previously compiled from a few interviews, articles (see references below):

on dying alive
“[we must be prepared to pay the price, then any difficulty will make sense. On the other hand,] if you do not follow your dreams, a difficulty is just a difficulty, it is just a difficult moment, and doesn’t make any sense.”

everyday’s a miracle
“I’m not saying that you cannot discover the universe in a daily life basis of repeating the same, you know, job — you can do this. You can do this, but you can now get blind by seeing each day as a similiar one. Each day is a different one, each day brings a miracle of its own. It’s just a matter to pay attention to this miracle. So, if we do this we will succeed in discover the clues of our destiny, even if we do the most boring, you know, task every single morning.”

Etc.:
“We have to accept ourselves as we are and stop worrying, instead of trying to become perfect and then start working.”

“I made a living out of writing, although I did not write a book till I was 38. Why? Because I believe there are two things that keep you away from your dream: to think that it is impossible, and to realize that it is possible (in this second case, you fear losing the meaning of your life).”

“..experience is all you have and must share. This is our reason to be here: to share. A book can act as a catalyst, making people understand that they are not alone. Several authors made me understand that, and I felt relieved during some critical moments in my life. A book can be a good companion. But it is up to each one of us to learn from our own experiences.”

“..when you’re really close to what God meant for you to be here, you are going to experience beginner’s luck”

“we know when we are closer to our goal by listening to our heart. So, my driving force is to fulfill my destiny.”

“I, who had dedicated most of my life to penetrate the ‘secrets’ of the universe, realized that there are no secrets. Life is and will always be a mystery. We have to follow the omens, and pay attention to others. Life is a constant miracle, and this miracle manifests itself in encounters with other people.”

“After the pilgrimage, I simplified my spiritual search a lot, and instead of searching for answers, I started to understand that life itself is an answer.”

on writing
“You need discipline and inspiration, rigor and mercy, earth and heaven. You need to have a clear goal, but you also need to allow yourself to be guided to get there.”

Coelho’s inspirations: Castaneda, Henry Miller, William Blake. But, above all, Jorge Amado and Jorge Luis Borges

On what he wants to communicate: My soul. My love. My experience. And one sentence: “Who dares, wins.”


on omens
– “The only way that you can learn any language is by making mistakes. I made my mistakes, but then I started to connect with the signs that guide me. This silent voice of God that leads me to the places where I should be.”

Etc.:
“In a certain way I try to share with my readers my inner quest, that’s basically my spiritual quest. I don’t have anything to teach, I don’t have anything to explain about the universe, I don’t believe in explanations of the universe, but actually I do have something to share. It is how I am experiencing this strange and sometimes very trickery path.”

Q: Your latest book, Eleven Minutes, wants to bring sexuality and spirituality to a healthier place. How can this happen?

Well, by accepting that sex is a physical manifestation of God, and that is not a sin—it is a blessing. And then by understanding that except for two things that I consider to be really sick–rape and pedophilia–you are free to be creative. It’s up to you, how you do this.

Sex was always surrounded by taboos, and I don’t see it necessarily as a manifestation of evil. I think that sexuality is first and foremost the way that God chooses for us to be here on earth, to enjoy this energy of love in the physical plane.

Q: So with a healthy understanding of sexuality you’re helping God manifest himself in the world?

Absolutely. Not only understanding, but practicing.

Ceolho on happiness from the character Esther in The Zahir
“I have everything, but I’m not happy. And I’m not the only one either . . . Some people appear to be happy, but they simply don’t give the matter much thought. Others make plans: I’m going to have a husband, a home, two children, a house in the country. As long as they’re busy doing that, they’re like bulls looking for the bullfighter: they react instinctively, they blunder on, with no idea where the target is. They get their car, sometimes they even get a Ferrari, and they think that’s the meaning of life, and they never question it. Yet their eyes betray the sadness that even they don’t know they carry in their soul . . .”

on philosophy
“I see philosophy as something alive, something that changes according to our inner needs. But if I were to synthesize my work, I would say: live your Personal Legend, pay the price of your dreams, read the omens, awaken your feminine side, and dare to be different.”

References:
worldmind.com ; lifepositive.com ; beliefnet.com ; timesonline.co.uk

4 comments
  1. Hello,
    This is the first time I submit a comment in the blogworld,so I don`t know what is meant by asking for webiste.

    I am a woman living in Norway. I love the books of P Coelho, (except tha last one ,Zahir), they inspire me, and I have listened so many times to the Alchemist on CD, so I almost know it by heart, but I still love to repeat lines to myself.
    Now I can add some other thoughts of him, to my heart, thanks to your blog, like the importance of sharing as opposed to teaching others.
    Thank you!
    Hear in southern Norway, 50 kilometers from the coast, it is now snowing at the perfect temperature of minus four degrees, Celsius. The snow is light and makes the world brighter by reflecting the light of our short days in January.
    Have a nice day!
    Gunnhild

  2. gayatri said:

    Hi Gunnhild,

    So nice of you to stop by…

    Thanks for sharing the joy of taking inspiration from Paulo Coelho’s thoughts with me. Glad to have helped make your day, along with the seemingly perfect weather you have.

    Best wishes and more blessings to you!

    Gayatri

  3. Elden Ito said:

    Hello Gayathri,
    I like your blog very much. It’s very inspiring! I think you must be a person of much purpose.
    Aloha!
    Elden

  4. gayatri said:

    Hello Elden,

    Thank you very much. Am humbled by your words of appreciation. Nothing encourages me more than knowing that sharing what had inspired me touched you and others as well.

    Best wishes and more blessings to you too.

    Aloha:)

    Gayatri

Leave a Reply

